Fiction Friday: Wild Montana Skies Review

img_7899

Back Cover Copy:

Search and rescue pilot Kacey Fairing is home on leave in Mercy Falls, Montana, twelve years after she joined the military to escape the mistakes of her past. With a job waiting for her as the new lead pilot of Peak Rescue in Glacier National Park, Kacey hopes to reconnect with the now-teenage daughter she sees only between deployments. What she doesn’t realize is that someone else is also back in town.

Ben King has been building his country music career since the day Kacey shut him out of her life. Now all of that’s on hold when his injured father calls him home to help run Peak Rescue until he’s fully recovered. It doesn’t take long, though, to discover his father’s ulterior motives as Kacey Fairing walks into the house and back into his heart.

With Mercy Falls in a state of emergency due to flash floods, Kacey and Ben are forced to work together to save lives. But when floodwaters turn personal, can they put aside the past to save their future?

My Review:

I was provided a copy by the publishers. All opinions are my own!

Susan May Warren is an expert story weaver. In Wild Montana Skies, the first book in her new series, she does an amazing job of creating layered characters and plot lines that allow for a quick read while leaving room to think and explore complex emotional situations. Once I got past the first chapter, I was all in.

This is a great read for those of you who enjoy stories about the power of first love. Love that endures despite time, separation, and broken circumstances.

If I had any complaint about the novel here it is:

I got a little too attached to Ian and Sierra, two point of view characters that occupied a large portion of the story. I knew how Ian and Sierra felt about each other throughout the book,and I was rooting for them the whole way through. But, I wasn’t sure how they felt at the end. I’m sure their story will be explored further in future books in the series. Since I got so invested in them yet didn’t feel any sense of temporary closure, I would rather have had more time with Ben and Kacey with only hints of Ian and Sierra. So yes, my complaint is that I liked her characters too much and wanted more ;).

I recommend this book if you’re looking for an escape to an adventure of love, hope, healing, and second chances in the Montana wilderness.

This is my second Susan May Warren book. My first experience with her writing was My Foolish Heart about an agoraphobic radio host who trapped inside her own home, gives a syndicated radio show about romance, even though she’s never been on her first date. Then a nuisance neighbor moves in and changes everything. It was such a sweet and funny read reminding me of You’ve Got Mail. 

For those of you who have read Susan May Warren, what is your favorite book she’s written?


Leave a Reply

