UnDone

IMG_8867

UnDone

Knotted.
A golden chain left to tumble in the wash
Turned and twisted
Impossibly tangled

I tried and failed
Still unusable
Fragile
Wasted beauty

But in Your hands
Your Spirit slips in
Even the tightest bind

Ever working Your way in
One snare at a time
Closer to the heart
A knot so tight

All powerful
You could snap me
But for your tenderness.

You work in reverse
Those knots
I tied myself
Shamed
Anxious and insecure

Closer
Deeper into the knot
The appearance of complexity
Simplified

Looser still
Until I am
In Your hands
Undone.

I’ve always loved untangling jewelry. As a kid, my mom would give her tangled gold chains to me to work like a puzzle. I woke this morning with the line of the song “Holy Spirit” by Francesca Battistelli on my heart:

I’ve tasted and seen
Of the sweetest of loves
Where my heart becomes free
And my shame is undone
Your presence, Lord

I pictured those impossibly tangled chains I so loved to work, and I saw myself. And what a glorious thing it is to be undone by Him. To let go of all those loose ends I try and hold together, and have made a tangled mess out of. Those things that are tangled in my mind seem complex, but in His all-knowing ways they are simple and clear.

 


5 thoughts on “UnDone

Leave a Reply

