God’s Not First in My Life

IMG_7241

God isn’t first in my life. I don’t know if He has ever been.

I’ve sat under more than a few sermons about balancing life, some very good ones. Recommended priorities usually looked something like this:

  1. God
  2. Spouse
  3. Family
  4. Ministry/Work

I see what they are doing there. I get it. With God first, all the other areas of life will find success.

But there is a problem, not with the concept of putting God as a first priority, but the human mind’s tendency to compartmentalize. If we aren’t careful, we’ll leave our relationship with God at the top of a list, and march right along with our merry lives convincing ourselves we have our priorities in line as our marriages, families, ministries, and job life seem to feel stuck. Why?

God can’t be left at the top of a list.

My goal is to place my relationship with God at the center of my life, the center of my marriage, my parenting choices, and my ministry.

I might be able to prioritize how much time I spend on all the other items on the priority list, but not my relationship with God. How much time with God is “enough” to allot in order for Him to have first place? There isn’t an answer to that. Because when I am getting the whole “life thing” right, I allow who He is, and His Word to influence my choices in all areas of life, all the time.

I’m not trying to split hairs, or say that the other frame of thinking is wrong. I’m offering a perspective that helps me keep my personal priorities in line. What about you? Do you have a tendency to compartmentalize your spiritual life like check boxes on a task list? Is there a particular way of thinking or mental image that helps you allow God’s word to function in all areas of your life?


Leave a Reply

