Catching Fire: More Than A Story to Me

IMG_7043

As I’ve mentioned before, God speaks to my strange little heart in strange ways. I am so thankful that though I seek to learn, grow, and speak His language, he is more fluent in the dialect of my heart than I am, and meets my seeking heart wherever I’m at.

Once upon a time, several years ago I was going through a difficult season of life. There were people who were making my life…how to say this gracefully… a living h.. less than pleasant.

My little world was shaking, and I clung to scripture treating it as vital as the air I breathed. God was so sweet and faithful with all my uncertainty. He soothed my heart during prayer,  and gave me direction for my path as I consumed his Word. I’ve looked back over my journals from that time period, and I can only sit in awe of the beautiful things God spoke to my heart from scripture. No matter what you face,  or how jumbled the mess, He can do the same for you.

At the end of the day, after all my seeking, stretching, and healing, I needed a mental and emotional break from my situation.

When I need a mini-vacation, I read. I wanted something that would pull me in, and let me visit another world for a little while. I had heard the buzz about The Hunger Games trilogy, but I hadn’t had much time for recreational reading when the books initially released. Besides, dystopian young adult fiction wasn’t my normal genre for pleasure reading.

Reviewers said they couldn’t put it down, my normal genre or not, it fit the bill. I’ve found genre means little to me if you give me some characters to root for.

Let’s just say I was hooked from the get-go.

Maybe a book about adolescents forced to fight to the death for the amusement of others sounds like an odd place for God to speak, but He got my attention.

“Remember who the real enemy is.”

The heroine, Katniss, has enemies closing in, in the midst of disorientation and uncertainty of alliance. In a split second she must make a decision between attacking the people charging toward her, or recognizing a bigger picture.

Remember who the real enemy is. It felt like there were people out to destroy the life I’d built, whether they meant it personally or not. This poignant word picture refreshed the clarity of my life mission. The people weren’t the enemy. They were pawns in Satan’s games. I could either fight them, or I could blow up the whole ordeal by refusing to play.

Whenever I was tempted to react with anger, vengeance, or despondency, I would remind myself of that line in the book. I wasn’t playing the game. I was determined to allow God to build a new world out of the ashes of the old one.

To any of you struggling  with people or situations that seem to personally attack you, remember who the real enemy is.

To any of you that look to people groups, religions, and the political climate as the problem, remember who the real enemy is.

Don’t attack people. Run to Jesus. He is the answer for the broken relationship. He is the answer for the physical circumstance. He is the answer for crumbling morality, even if you feel like the mess is too big to fix. Stop being a part of divisiveness. Stop playing the games. For those who are in Christ, there is a far bigger picture at stake than the one directly in front of you.

I wonder what would happen to this world if individual Christians committed to changing their focus from blasting issues to finding ways to share the hope found in Jesus through building tenacious relationships.

I can’t speak for the world at large, but in my little corner peace was established, restoration occurred, wounds were healed. Don’t let my sweet little sentence fool you though. Satan doesn’t like it when you blow up his games any more than President Snow did ;). Your initial commitment to recognize the real enemy is only the start of the battle.

Ephesians 6:12 “For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in the dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.

Remember who the real enemy is. Are your words and actions are helping the right side?


Leave a Reply

