My Unexpected Life Lesson From Frozen

IMG_6787

It’s been a whirlwind week at Disney World. We had a great time with wonderful weather. You want my number one tip on doing Disney with three kids ages five and under? Make plans, take them with a grain of salt, and live in the moment just like the kids do.

Of course all through the week I have been trying to decide the direction of today’s blog. Thankfully, you all accept me for the irrepressibly introspective individual that I am, and don’t mind me taking a Disney experience and turning it into philosophical musings.

At Hollywood Studios there is a new sing-a-long show for the movie, Frozen. I’ve seen this movie more than a few times. I do have a three year old daughter after all. The show is lots of fun with all the signature songs, humor to keep the parents laughing, and a little snow magic.

In the midst of watching my children’s spellbound faces a little thought niggled at the back of my mind as Elsa stormed away, leaving Arendale frozen solid.

Anna declares to the fear-struck crowd that she will retrieve her sister to fix the mess. To all the exclamations of the danger involved, Anna responds, “Elsa is my sister, she would never hurt me.”

Interesting, right? Because, if you’ve seen the movie, you know that Elsa already hurt Anna. Anna just doesn’t remember.

Not understanding that emotionally intense situations cause Elsa to lose control, Anna makes an impassioned speech, and pushes her sister over the edge of self-command. Elsa unintentionally hurts Anna again. This time it’s life threatening.

What if the first time Elsa’s powers got out of hand, Pabbie Troll had not erased the magic and left the fun? What if Elsa and Anna had been raised together to recognize the responsibility that goes with Elsa’s powers? I venture to say, Anna would have approached her sister in the ice castle differently.

I know. I know. It’s a kids’ movie, and it would not have been much of a story without an optimistic and trusting Anna. Of all the characters, she’s my favorite. But I’m left with thoughts about my own children. Do I try and erase the memory of their pain, and leave the fun? Do I teach them the responsibility that goes with the gifts God has given them? Do I hide their siblings’ weaknesses, or do I teach them to support one another and grow together?

When we hide our strengths and weaknesses from the people we love, we limit our relationships. We are ruled by our fear instead of love. Fear of disappointment. Fear of rejection. Fear of confrontation.  We do the most damage to the people closest to us when we aren’t honest. How can I protect someone I love when I don’t know the chinks in their armor? Likewise, how can they help me if my own vulnerabilities are shut away?

So. Let it go everybody ;). Let go of the fear, and take the risk of authentic love.

What are your favorite life lessons you’ve picked up from unexpected places?


Leave a Reply

