Hope is the thing with feathers…

spring-1228961_1920

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

– Emily Dickinson

Funny Story. At least I find it funny. The name for this blog didn’t originate from Emily Dickinson’s poem.  My husband gets the credit. He had the idea several years ago to set up a website for a counseling ministry, Hope Perch.  The idea was that a perch is a place of rest, and the website would be a place to find hope perched and waiting for those who visited. The name appealed to my poetic inclinations.

However, it wasn’t until later that I made the connection with Dickinson’s yearning poem. I had to laugh at how it fit with such perfection. It confirmed in my heart that there was something I was meant to do in this space. But, it was the wrong season, and the idea was shelved.

Years later, I am grateful for my training as a counselor, but my career is on a different path for this phase of life.  The purpose of my blog is not to counsel, but I do hope it is a place of rest, a place of hope. I like to think of it as sitting down with a cup of coffee and a friend.

I am excited to see how this blog transforms over time, and becomes the thing it is meant to be. Although, I have a confession. The internet is full of voices and opinions, and I am hesitant to become a whisper in a sea of shouting. But, I’ve held off long enough.  Sometimes you don’t know the path God has laid out until you are brave enough to take the first step.

Whether my journey writing on Hope Perch is long, or a short bridge to another place, I appreciate you taking the time to read my first post. Come out from all the noise, take Selah, and let hope perch in your soul.

Meet me back here on Friday. I went to a hootenanny ya’ll (a what!?), and you need to hear this story, flaming bandanna and all. (Yes, there was fire….in a barn…and I was involved.)

Until then, what line of Dickinson’s poem jumps off the screen at you? Please share your thoughts below!  Thanks again for stopping by!


9 thoughts on “Hope is the thing with feathers…

  1. So glad you finally decided to share your talent and your love with everyone! Can’t wait to see what’s next ! Congrats and prayers that many lives will be changed because you were brave enough to take that “first step” to reach out and touch someone!

    Like

    1. Agreed :). I love the part of the poem that says ‘sings the tune without the words.’ I feel like that so accurately describes HOPE. It is something beyond words. Thanks for stopping by!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

